By Billy Horan, Club PRO

An improved Ballinrobe performance fashioned a 3-12 to 2-11 victory over Ballintubber in the second round of the Mayo U21 B football championship, at Flanagan Park, Ballinrobe, on Sunday morning.
Wasteful Ballintubber made poor use of scoring opportunities in the first half and a late surge, highlighted by goals from Peter Butler and Joe Burke, left the locals clear by 3-7 to 1-4.
Ballinrobe’s defensive mettle was strenuously challenged in the second half, and though the margin was reduced, mainly through the exploits of Hugh Geraghty, James Finnerty, Ciaran Gavin and Darragh McGovern, Ballinrobe still had their heads in front at the finish.
Ballinrobe: Evan O’Brien 0-6, Joseph Burke 1-2, Peter Butler 1-1, Peter Walsh 1-0, Kevin Quinn 0-2, John Enda Flannelly 0-1.
Ballintubber: Hugh Geraghty 2-1, Louis Hoban, James Finnerty, Ciaran Gavin 0-2 each, Darragh McGovern, John Kerrigan, Keelan McDonnell and Paddy Burke 0-1 each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *