A goal by substitute Ewan Duffy was the winning score in Ballinrobe’s defeat of The Neale by 4-11 to 4-10 in the semi-final of the South Mayo minor B football championship, at Flanagan Park, Ballinrobe, on Friday evening.

The Neale, with county minor Tommy Conroy to the fore, had a commanding advantage of 4-8 to 1-4 at the interval. In a lively second half, goals from Jack Flanagan and Liam Burke brought Ballinrobe back into contention, and goalkeeper David Lynagh was seen to effect when saving a Tommy Conroy penalty.

Liam Burke, Evan O’Brien, Evan Reaney, Oran O’Malley and Christopher Vahey were prominent for Ballinrobe. Best for The Neale were Tommy Conroy, Brian O’Halloran, Fergal Sweeney, Zak Feerick and Matthew Murphy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *