Ballinrobe’s recent victory in the Mayo U12C Football Championship marked the club’s first ladies football county title since 2006.

The team defeated MacHale Rovers from the Lahardane/Crossmolina area in a thrilling encounter at Ballyheane. Team captain Lola Tiernan was also named as player of the match.

The ladies club has gone from strength to strength since being reformed in the past decade.

The match was broadcast on the club’s radio service and family members and supporters from all over the world tuned in to follow the action. Upon returning to Ballinrobe, the players were accorded a reception at the racecourse.

Club chairperson John Flannelly complimented the squad on their achievement and expressed the view that this was just the first of many ladies football triumphs that will come the club’s way in the years ahead.

Ballinrobe squad: Katrina Jemeljanova; Roisin Yates; Sophie Delaney; Candice Colfer; Emily Grimes; Rachel Gallagher; Lola Tiernan; Hannah Pecak; Emily O’Connor; Ry-lee Burke; Isabel Tierney; Laoise May; Hannah O’Connor; Sienna O Brien; Bláthnaid Feerick; Réaltìn Burke; Julia Szura; Trudi Donnelly; Chloe Denning; Eabha-May Murphy; Niamh Lydon; Mia Shaughnessy; Blanka Webber; Taylor Wilson; Lily Bolger.

Management: Elaine Treacy, Padraig Delaney, David Grimes, Declan O’Loughlin and Declan Corcoran. The management and players are also grateful to Sinead O’Sullivan who also assisted with team preparation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *