By Billy Horan, Club PRO

Ballinrobe Community School withstood a spirited challenge from St Aloysius College, Athlone, to win the Connacht Colleges Junior B football championship final on a score line of 2-10 to 1-11 in at Mountbellew last week.

An Oisin Hanlon goal helped to fashion a Ballinrobe interval lead of 1-6 to 0-5. Competitive exchanges marked the second-half and a Cathal Slattery goal was a crucial factor in gaining the title for Ballinrobe.

Evan O’Brien, the captain, Cathal Slattery, who scored 1-2, Adam Barrett, Oran O’Malley, Tommy Conroy and Christopher Vahey were well to the fore for Ballinrobe.

Team: James Kyne (Clonbur); Oisin Mullin (Kilmaine), Oran O’Malley (Ballinrobe), Christopher Vahey (Ballinrobe); Conor O’Malley (The Neale), Ryan O’Halloran (The Neale), Darren Munroe (Kilmaine); Evan O’Brien (Ballinrobe), Ross Philbin (Ballinrobe); Tommy Conroy (The Neale), Oisin Hanlon (Ballinrobe), Adam Barrett (Kilmaine); Cathal Slattery (Garrymore), Paddy Feerick (Clonbur), Rory Jennings (Ballinrobe).

Sub: Eoin Sheridan (Ballinrobe).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *