Bord na nOg awards salute stars of the future

A LARGE crowd turned out for the annual Ballinrobe GAA club Bord na nÓg presentation evening in The Valkenburg on Friday.
The stars of the show were the members of the 2010 Ballinrobe minor team who received their Mayo ‘C’ championship medals from special guests Tommy O’Malley (former Ballinrobe and Mayo footballer) and Ballinrobe senior team captain Donal Vaughan (who is also a member of the Mayo squad).
The ‘Players of the Year’ and ‘Most Dedicated Player of the Year’ were also presented with their awards, while Pat Malone Snr received the Bord na nÓg Hall of Fame accolade.
“It was a great night and it was nice to see so many young footballers and their parents turning out to celebrate another good year for the underage section of the club,” said Bord na nÓg Chairman, Kevin Gilrane.
“A lot of people have put in a huge amount of work into our Bord na nÓg structure over the last five or six years and it’s really beginning to reap its rewards,” he added.
“We’ve got more and more young footballers, boys and girls, joining the club each year and the success of our minor footballers in 2010 showed what can be achieved with the right attitude.
“I’d also like to pay credit to all the coaches who invest so much time and effort into coaching and training our stars of the future.
“Without them there would be no Bord na nÓg teams in the Ballinrobe club, and there’s nothing better than seeing a group of young players working with their coaches at Flanagan Park on a summer’s evening. We’re all really looking forward to the new season.”

The 2010 Ballinrobe GAA club Bord na nÓg award winners were:


Player of the Year: Ronan O’Reilly; Most Dedicated Player of the Year: Patrick Daly


Player of the Year: Peter Finnerty; Most Dedicated Player of the Year: James Quinn


Player of the Year: David O’Connor; Most Dedicated Player of the Year: David Murphy

Hall of Fame

Pat Malone Snr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *